MEMORANDUM

TO: Scholarly Activities Committee

FROM: Sam Minner, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

DATE: September 2011

SUBJ: Committee Membership

I am writing to congratulate the following persons on their appointment or election to the Scholarly Activities Committee for the 2011-2012 academic year in accordance with Radford University's Internal Governance Document. Your interest in and commitment to Radford University by serving on this committee is very much appreciated.

Membership:		<u>Terms</u>
Dean – Graduate & Professional Studies	Dr. Dennis Grady	Permanent
Academic Dean	Dr. Patricia Shoemaker	2009-2011
Academic Dean	Dr. Raymond Linville	2010-2012
Tenured Faculty (Educ)	Dr. Ed Udd	2009-2011
Tenured Faculty (H&HS)	Dr. Adrian Aron	2011-2014
Tenured Faculty (V&PA)	Dr. Robert Sanderl	2011-2014
Tenured Faculty (Sci. and Tech)	Dr. Grigory Ioffe	2010-2012
Tenured Faculty (Bus. & Eco)	Dr. Hooshang Behesti	2010-2012
Tenured Faculty (Hum. & Beh. Sci.)	Dr. Richard Van Noy	2011-2014
Faculty Senate Executive Committee Rep.	Dr. Pamela Jackson	2011-2014
Research & Sponsored Programs (non-voting)	Tom Cruise	Permanent

Committee Function:

Provides recommendations regarding policies and activities related to research and scholarly activities, research support, sponsored programs, and the Faculty Professional Development Leave program. Reviews applications and makes recommendations regarding Faculty Professional Development Leave.

The Responsible Administrator listed below or his/her designee shall call the first meeting of the committee at which the committee will elect a chair. It is the responsibility of the chair to insure that minutes are recorded for each committee meeting. Those minutes and supporting documents shall be forwarded to the Responsible Administrator and copied to Dr. Rhett Herman for posting on the Faculty Senate website as soon as possible after each meeting.

Designated Administrator: