## MEMORANDUM

TO: Academic Program Review Committee

FROM: Sam Minner, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

DATE: September 2011

SUBJECT: Committee Membership

I am writing to congratulate the following persons on their appointment or election to the Academic Program Review Committee for the 2011-2012 academic year in accordance with Radford University's Internal Governance Document. Your interest in and commitment to Radford University by serving on this committee is very much appreciated.

Membership:		<u>Terms</u>
Dir., Institutional Research, Planning & Assess.	Dr. Debra Templeton	Permanent
Dean – Humanities & Behavioral Sciences	Dr. Kate Hawkins	Permanent
Dean – Business & Economics	Dr. Faye Gilbert	Permanent
Dean – Education & Human Development	Dr. Pat Shoemaker	Permanent
Dean – Health & Human Services	Dr. Raymond Linville	Permanent
Dean – Science & Technology	Dr. Orion Rogers	Permanent
Dean – Visual & Performing Arts	Dr. Joseph Scartelli	Permanent
Dean – Graduate & Professional Studies	Dr. Dennis Grady	Permanent
Faculty Senate President	Dr. Rick Roth	2011-2012
Teaching Faculty – Humanities & Beh. Sciences	Dr. Jane Bucy	2011-2012
Teaching Faculty – Business & Economics	Dr. George Santopietro	2011-2012
Teaching Faculty – Education & Human Dev.	Dr. Joseph Jones	2011-2012
Teaching Faculty – Health & Human Services	Mr. Anthony Ramsey	2011-2012
Teaching Faculty –Science & Technology	Dr. Georgia Hammond	2011-2012
Teaching Faculty – Visual & Performing Arts	Dr. Carl Lefko	2011-2012
Student	Ms. Stacy Hayden	2011-2012

## **Committee Function:**

The Academic Program Review Committee is a review body with an obligation to complete a rigorous assessment of each academic program's Program Quality Assessment report and make continuance recommendations based on the established criteria in the Academic Program Review Guidelines. The Committee makes program development recommendations focused on the quality of the program, student engagement, and student learning. The Committee provides a copy of its recommendations, along with any suggestions for program improvement/development to the department chairperson and/or program coordinator. The Program Quality Assessment report for those programs scheduled, along with the Committee's assessment and recommendations shall be submitted to the Vice President for Academic Affairs according to established deadlines.

The Responsible Administrator listed below or his/her designee shall call the first meeting of the committee at which the committee will elect a chair. It is the responsibility of the chair to insure that minutes are recorded for each committee meeting. Those minutes and supporting documents shall be forwarded to the Responsible Administrator and copied to Dr. Rhett Herman for posting on the Faculty Senate website as soon as possible after each meeting.

**Designated Administrator:** 

Provost